Khaleesi, Gelato Messina, Surry Hills

khaleesi-gelato-messina

  • “Yoghurt and mango gelato with dragonfruit puree”.
  • I don’t swing to the fruity side very often when it comes to ice cream but as a fan of Game of Thrones (both the books and the TV series), the name of this flavour did pique my interest.
  • Plus, mango is one of my favourite fruits, I enjoy yoghurt on an almost daily basis and I have nothing against dragonfruit (its colouring is gorgeous but the flesh doesn’t impart much in the way of taste).
  • So, how did the Mother of Dragons fare with me?
  • The scoop was nice and firm i.e. more solid than I’m accustomed to with Gelato Messina.
  • The mango flavour was pronounced.
  • A more sour note for the yoghurt component would have been good.
  • Aside from the seeds, I’m not sure about how much dragronfruit I could detect in the purée.
  • Rather, it was jam-like and slightly tart which worked well with the sweetness of the mango.
  • Overall, ’twas a lukewarm venture for my taste buds.
Leave a Reply

