Kakawa Chocolates, Darlinghurst

kakawa-chocolates-darlinghurst

  • Right off the bat, a delicious, chocolatey scent welcomed me like a a warm hug when I stepped into Kakawa Chocolates.
  • It’s a little boutique with quite a range of goodies to entice your sweet tooth e.g. individual chocolates, chocolate bars, fudges, caramels, spreads, ice cream sandwiches, chocolate CDs, rocky road, etc.
  • Everything is made on-site so products are super fresh (I was told the shelf life of the individual chocolates is around 10 days), the staff is well informed about what’s actually in the products and you are able to view the creation process.
  • I was quite charmed by it all on my first visit and picked up some caramels, individual chocolates and a spread.
  • It was rather fun to taste test my way through the lot.
  • My tastebuds had mixed thoughts but, overall, Kakawa Chocolates gets a thumbs up from me.

Caramels

  • The five flavours were presented in massive glass jars.
  • I plopped two flavours into my little basket.
  • Vanilla & Butter – I couldn’t make much out of this flavour beyond the butter.
  • Dark Chocolate – This was interesting. I was expecting more chocolate notes but it retained a lot of the buttery caramel side that was present in the Vanilla & Butter caramel.
  • I think the caramels would appeal to the general audience – my sister quite enjoyed them – but they were too buttery for my liking.

Individual Chocolates

  • The dilemma of choice: making my selection of four from the glass counter was no easy feat.
  • Sea Salted Caramel – The chocolate shell of this delightful caramel-filled orb had a good snap to it. The salted caramel flavour was rich and rounded. Its salt element definitely came through. What set it apart for me was that it was on the edge of being an almost burnt caramel flavour. Nicely done.
  • Earl Grey – The shell of this chocolate square was thin and kind of crisp. The chocolate was aromatic but I couldn’t detect any tea in the soft ganache filling. It’s tricky because tea flavours tend to be quite subtle and that’s difficult to incorporate into chocolate.
  • Wattle Seed & Espresso – I don’t know what wattle seed tastes like but I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that it may have only been present in spirit form. There was an intense coffee flavour that married really well with the dark chocolate.
  • Peanut Butter Triangle – This was pretty straight forward. Better than a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup but not as good as Whittaker’s Peanut Butter block.
  • Bottom line: I’d eat the Sea Salted Caramel and Wattle Seed & Espresso again.
  • Going forward (and looking at their selection online): I’d be interested in trying Salted Crispy Crunchy, Tonka & Vanilla, Lychee and Chocolate Nougat.

Spread

  • There were two types of spreads on offer in 150g and 250g jars.
  • I couldn’t pass up the small jar of Sea Salted Caramel, which is essentially the filling for their individual chocolate of the same name.
  • It’s a dangerous thing to have such a jar on hand.
  • I suppose the serving options are practically endless but – apart from a stint with some banana slices – I’ve primarily been enjoying it on its own.
One thought on “Kakawa Chocolates, Darlinghurst

  1. Pingback: Kakawa Chocolates, Darlinghurst | Foodversation

Leave a Reply

