Pork & Fennel Sausage Roll, Bourke Street Bakery, Potts Point

pork-and-fennel-sausauge-roll-bourke-street-bakery-potts-point

  • Just like the Ginger Brûlée Tart, Bourke Street Bakery’s Pork & Fennel Sausage Roll has a bit of pastry fame surrounding it.
  • On a little side tangent, I wasn’t aware of food photography backlash until I stumbled across Michael’s post about it but my personal approach is to quickly capture the food in a snap or two, be conscious of my dining companions and not to get too caught up in the need to document every single thing.
  • Given that approach, my photo of the Pork & Fennel Sausage Roll is not the most flattering, nor do I expect it to induce any mouthwatering antics.
  • I think I’ve been rather sheltered when it comes to sausage rolls.
  • When they appear in the company of pies, I tend to favour the pies because I have little faith in phenomenal tasting sausage rolls.
  • Well, let me tell you that this sausage roll was pretty darn good.
  • I would happily eat it again.
  • Unlike the Beef Pie, the seasoning was spot-on.
  • The pork was succulent and there was just the right amount of fennel to make every bite a wonderful experience.
  • I also liked that the pastry wasn’t greasy.
  • Once completely consumed, the Pork & Fennel Sausage Roll was a satisfying lunch that was filling without being too heavy.
Leave a Reply

